Barn of the Year Application

Submissions for the 2021 awards will be accepted from:
Nov. 1, 2020 to Feb. 1, 2021.

The new application form will be available soon. In the meantime, you can review the 2020 form as a sample and start taking photos of your barn. 


To be eligible, the barn must be in-use, either for continued agricultural use or adapted for other uses. Barns must retain their overall appearance — both in their interior and exterior barn characteristics.


Award categories cover barns that continue to be used for agriculture and those that are adapted for other uses and whether the barn is family-owned or the project of a non-profit or commercial entity.

  • Continuing Agricultural Use – Family (Private), Non-Profit or Commercial
  • Adapted to Other Uses – Family (Private), Non-Profit or Commercial


Nominated barns are judged on (1) completeness of information presented in the application, (2) sensitivity and integrity of repairs or modifications, (3) visual appeal, (4) creativity, (5) thoroughness of work and (6) effort expended to repair and maintain.

Application Componets:

Four items are required for the submission:

For questions, contact the program chairman, Keith Anderson.  E-mail: or Mobile: 616-540-6701.  

Past Winners

Click here for database of Barn of the Year winners from 1997 to 2016. Also see showcase of winners: